Bar eligibility

Photo of students in classThe United States doesn't have a national bar examination. Students in Wayne Law's LL.M. in U.S. law program receive personal course counseling so those who seek admission to one or more state bars in the United States use their elective courses to satisfy the educational eligibility requirements set by the bar examiners in California, New York and other states.

State bar exams

Below is a list of state bar exams for which LL.M. in U.S. law graduates may be eligible. Check each state's requirements to determine if you qualify to sit for the examination. Note: Most states impose additional requirements beyond attaining an LL.M. degree, such as a character and fitness requirement.






New Hampshire

New York





Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam

As part of their bar examination and admission processes, all states in the United States (except for Wisconsin) require candidates to take the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam. The two-hour-and-five-minute test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. The exam tests knowledge of the ethical standards of the legal profession as codified in the American Bar Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct and Model Code of Judicial Conduct. The exam is offered each March, August and November.

Students are strongly encouraged to prepare for the exam by taking Wayne Law's Professional Responsibility class.

Application, fees and deadline information

Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan