Academic calendar

  • Fall semester 2022

    Priority registration for fall semester 2022
    Thursday, Jul. 21 to Sunday, Aug. 21

    Open registration for fall semester 2022
    Monday, Aug. 22 to Sunday, Aug. 28

    Legal Writing Program Introduction begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
    Monday, Aug. 23

    Law classes begin for all law students
    Monday, Aug. 29

    Late registration for fall semester 2022
    Monday, Aug. 29 to Monday, Sept. 12

    Labor Day holiday
    Monday, Sept. 5

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Monday, Sept. 12

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Sept. 12

    Instructor approval required to withdraw from classes beginning this date
    Tuesday, Sept. 13

    Last day for filing degree application for December 2022 graduation
    Friday, September 30

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Oct. 10

    Priority registration for winter semester 2023
    TBA to Sunday, Jan. 1, 2023

    Federal Election holiday – University closed
    Tuesday, Nov. 8

    Day scheduled as a Friday*
    Wednesday, Nov. 23

    Thanksgiving holiday
    Thursday, Nov. 24 to Saturday, Nov. 26

    Classes end
    Thursday, Dec. 1

    Class make-up day
    Friday, Dec. 2

    Review and reading period
    Monday, Dec. 5 to Thursday, Dec. 8

    Law School examination period
    Friday, Dec. 9 to Wednesday, Dec. 21

    Winter break
    Saturday, Dec. 24 to Sunday, Jan. 1

    Fall semester ends
    Saturday, Dec. 31

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Friday, Jan. 13

    *To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays and University closures, substitute class days are scheduled.

  • Winter semester 2023

    Winter semester begins
    Sunday, Jan. 1

    Priority registration for winter semester 2023
    Monday, Nov 28 to Sunday, Jan. 1

    Open registration for winter semester 2023
    Monday, Jan. 2 to Sunday, Jan. 8

    Classes begin
    Monday, Jan. 9

    Late registration for winter semester 2023
    Monday, Jan. 9 to Monday, Jan. 23

    Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday – University closed
    Monday, Jan. 16

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Monday, Jan. 23

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Jan. 23

    Instructor Approval Required to Withdraw from Classes Beginning this Date
    Tuesday, Jan. 24

    Last day for filing degree application for May 2023 graduation
    Friday, Feb. 10

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Feb. 20

    Priority registration for spring/summer semester 2023
    TBD to Sunday, May 7

    Law School and University spring break
    Monday, March 13 to Saturday, March 18

    Classes resume
    Monday, March 20

    Classes end
    Monday, April 17

    Class make-up days, if needed
    Tuesday, April 18 and Wednesday, April 19

    Review and reading period
    Thursday, April 20 to Wednesday, April 26

    Law School examination period
    Thursday, April 27 to Wednesday, May 10

    Open registration for spring/summer semester 2023
    Monday, May 8 to Saturday, May 13

    Law School semester ends
    Wednesday, May 10

    Law School Commencement
    TBD

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Wednesday, June 7