Academic calendar

  • Fall term 2019

    Priority registration for fall term 2019
    Thursday, August 1 to Saturday, Aug. 17

    Open registration for fall term 2019
    Monday, Aug. 19 to Saturday, Aug. 24

    Orientation and Legal Writing Program begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
    Monday, Aug. 19

    Law classes begin for all law students
    Monday, Aug. 26

    Late registration for fall term 2019
    Monday, Aug. 26 to Monday, Sept. 9

    Labor Day recess
    Monday, Sept. 2

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Monday, Sept. 9

    Instructor Approval Required to Withdraw from Classes Beginning this Date
    Tuesday, Sept. 10

    Last day for filing degree application for December 2019 graduation
    Friday, Sept. 27

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Oct. 7

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Oct. 7

    Priority registration for winter term 2020
    Monday, Nov. 18 to Saturday, Dec. 28

    Classes end
    Monday, Nov. 25

    Class make up day, if needed
    Tuesday, Nov. 26

    Review and reading period
    Wednesday, Nov. 27 to Wednesday, December 4

    Thanksgiving recess
    Thursday, Nov. 28 to Saturday, Nov. 30

    Law School examination period
    Thursday, Dec. 5 to Wednesday, Dec. 18

    Holiday recess
    Monday, Dec. 23 to Wednesday, Jan. 1

    Fall term ends
    Tuesday, Dec. 31

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Thursday, Jan. 2

  • Winter term 2020

    Winter term begins
    Wednesday, Jan. 1

    Open registration for winter term 2020
    Monday, Dec. 30 to Saturday, Jan. 4

    Classes begin
    Monday, Jan. 6

    Late registration for winter term 2020
    Monday, Jan. 6 to Friday, Jan. 17

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Friday, Jan. 17

    Instructor Approval Required to Withdraw from Classes Beginning this Date
    Saturday, Jan. 18

    Martin Luther King Holiday – university holiday
    Monday, Jan. 20

    Last day for filing degree application for May 2020 graduation
    Friday, Feb. 7

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Feb. 17

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Feb. 17

    Priority registration for spring/summer term 2020
    To be determined to Saturday, May 2

    Law School and university spring recess
    Monday, March 9 to Saturday, March 14

    Classes resume
    Monday, March 16

    Priority registration for fall term 2020
    To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 15

    Classes end
    Monday, April 13

    Class make-up days, if needed
    Tuesday, April 14 and Wednesday, April 15

    Review and reading period
    Thursday, April 16 to Wednesday, April 22

    Law School examination period
    Thursday, April 23 to Wednesday, May 6

    Open registration for spring/summer term 2020
    Monday, May 4 to Saturday, May 16

    Law School term ends
    Wednesday, May 6

    Law School Commencement
    To be determined

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Wednesday, June 3

  • Summer term 2020 (tentative)

    Open Registration for spring/summer term 2020
    Monday, May 4 to Saturday, May 16

    Classes begin
    Monday, May 18

    Late registration for summer term 2020
    Monday, May 18 to Saturday, May 23

    Last day to add 6 ½ week and 10 week courses and last day to drop 6 ½ week courses and receive tuition cancellation
    Friday, May 22

    Memorial Day - university holiday
    Monday, May 25

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Friday, May 29

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Friday, May 29

    Last day for filing degree application for August 2020 graduation
    Friday, June 5

    Classes end**
    Wednesday, July 1

    Independence Day recess - university closed
    Friday, July 3

    Law School examination period
    Monday, July 6 to Friday, July 10

    Summer term ends
    Friday, Aug. 21

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Friday, July 24

    *6½-week classes will end on July 1. 10-week classes will end July 24. Mandatory orientation for all externship classes will be 8 a.m.-5 p.m. May 15.

  • Fall term 2020 (tentative)

    Priority registration for fall term 2020
    To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 22

    Open registration for fall term 2020
    Monday, Aug. 24 to Saturday, Aug. 29

    Orientation and Legal Writing Program begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
    Monday, Aug. 24

    Law classes begin for all law students
    Monday, Aug. 31

    Late registration for fall term 2019
    Monday, Aug. 31 to Monday, Sept. 14

    Labor Day recess
    Monday, Sept. 7

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Monday, Sept. 14

    Instructor Approval Required to Withdraw from Classes Beginning this Date
    Tuesday, Sept. 15

    Last day for filing degree application for December 2020 graduation
    Friday, Oct. 2

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Oct. 12

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Oct. 12

    Priority registration for winter term 2020
    Wednesday, Nov. 4 (tentative) to Saturday, Jan. 2

    Day scheduled as Thursday*
    Tuesday, Nov. 24

    Day scheduled as Friday*
    Wednesday, Nov. 25

    Thanksgiving recess
    Thursday, Nov. 26 to Saturday, Nov. 28

    Classes end
    Wednesday, Dec. 2

    Review and reading period
    Thursday, Dec. 3 to Wednesday, December 9

    Law School examination period
    Thursday, Dec. 10 to Wednesday, Dec. 23

    Holiday recess
    Friday, Dec. 25 to Friday, Jan. 1

    Fall term ends
    Thursday, Dec. 31

    Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    Thursday, Jan. 7

    *Classes scheduled to account for Labor Day holiday.

  • Winter term 2021 (tentative)

    Winter term begins
    Friday, Jan. 1

    Open registration for winter term 2021
    Monday, Jan. 4 to Saturday, Jan. 9

    Classes begin
    Monday, Jan. 11

    Late registration for winter term 2021
    Monday, Jan. 11 to Friday, Jan. 22

    Martin Luther King Holiday – university holiday
    Monday, Jan. 18

    Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
    Friday, Jan. 22

    Instructor Approval Required to Withdraw from Classes Beginning this Date
    Saturday, Jan. 23

    Last day for filing degree application for May 2021 graduation
    Friday, Feb. 12

    Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
    Monday, Feb. 22

    Deadline to file Upper-Level Writing Requirement Certificate of Intent forms
    Monday, Feb. 22

    Priority registration for spring/summer term 2021
    To be determined to Saturday, May 8

    Law School and university spring recess
    Monday, March 15 to Saturday, March 20

    Classes resume
    Monday, March 22

    Priority registration for fall term 2021
    To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 21

    Classes end
    Monday, April 19

    Class make-up days, if needed
    Tuesday, April 20 and Wednesday, April 21

    Review and reading period
    Thursday, April 22 to Wednesday, April 28

    Law School examination period
    Thursday, April 29 to Wednesday, May 12

    Open registration for spring/summer term 2021
    Monday, May 10 to Saturday, May 15

    Law School term ends
    Wednesday, May 12

    Law School Commencement
    To be determined

    Upper-level Writing Requirement Certificate of Completion forms due by this date
    TBD