Public Interest Law Fellowship past recipients

The Wayne Law Public Interest Law Fellowship program was created to allow students additional opportunities to gain practical experience and offer needed assistance to organizations providing legal services to underserved constituencies. Fellowship recipients, who will hold public interest jobs during the summer, are selected by a committee consisting of Wayne Law faculty, staff and students.

Make a gift to support Wayne Law Public Interest Law Fellowships

2016 fellowship winners

David Adgate – Federal Defender Office
Hassan Bazzi – Great Lakes Environmental Law Center
Lance Bruck – United Community Housing Coalition
Hannah Fielstra – Michigan State Appellate Defender Office
Holland Locklear – American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan
Marie Reimers – The Family Law Project
Madeline Sinkovich – Legal Services of Eastern Michigan

2015 fellowship winners

Sabra Bushey – Environmental Protection Agency
Alexandra Kavieff  Wayne County Solutions Oriented Domestic Violence Prevention Court
Holland Locklear  Sugar Law Center
Maureen O'Sullivan  State Appellate Defender Office
Justin Sterk  Great Lakes Environmental Law Center
Phaedra Wainaina  U.S. Attorney's Office, Eastern District of Michigan
Ashley Zacharski  Detroit Center for Family Advocacy

2014 fellowship winners

Shahar Ben-Josef – Freedom House Detroit
Scott Boyer – Michigan Immigrant Rights Center
Connor Brown – Legal Aid and Defender Association Inc.
Kimberly Grzic – Wayne Law Asylum and Immigration Law Clinic
Marcus Johnson – Wayne County Prosecutor's Office
Melissa Kliemann – Federal Defender Office
Steven Knox – Michigan Legal Services
James Kresta – Washtenaw County Office of Public Defender
Maureen O'Sullivan – U.S. Environmental Protection Agency – New York
Jillian Peterson – Free Legal Aid Clinic
Alexis Shull – Elder Law Advocacy Center
Paul Taylor – Free Legal Aid Clinic
Pamela Wall – Free Legal Aid Clinic
Patricia Woodruff – Michigan Children's Law Center / Wayne County Solution Oriented Domestic Violence Prevention Court
Ashley Zacharski – Wayne County Solution Oriented Domestic Violence Prevention Court 

2013 fellowship winners

Edyth Abraham – Wayne County Solutions Oriented Domestic Violence Prevention Court
Shahar Ben-Josef – Council on American-Islamic Relations - Michigan Chapter
Judith Bohr – American Friends Service Committee - Michigan Criminal Justice Program
Connor Brown – Maurice & Jane Sugar Law Center for Economic & Social Justice
Jeremy Diamond – Atlanta Legal Aid Society
Sarah Douglas-Siegel – State Appellate Defender Office
Carrie Floyd – Legal Services of South Central Michigan
Melissa Kliemann – Washtenaw County Public Defender
Steven Knox – Legal Advocacy for People with Cancer Clinic
Ben McCoy – Great Lakes Environmental Law Center
Nicholas McIntyre – U.S. Department of Justice Community Relations Service
Klaudia Nikolli – Legal Aid and Defender Association Detroit
Kyle Peczynski – U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Eric Shovein – Organization for Refuge, Asylum and Migration
Ana Stutler – Neighborhood  Christian Legal Clinic

2012 fellowship winners

Lynn Bartkowiak – Lakeshore Legal Aid
Sarah Douglas – Washtenaw County Office of the Public Defender
Tasnim Hassanali – Advocates for Informed Choice
Robert Johns – Michigan Attorney General's Office
Melissa Knox – U.S. House Judiciary Committee, Eastern District of Michigan
Nicholas Leonard – Michigan Children's Law Center
Margaret Lukshaitis – Michigan Poverty Law Program
Lisa Maskill – Lakeshore Legal Aid
Katie Okonowski – U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Nick Ranke – Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Zachary Steffes – Washtenaw County Office of the Public Defender
Ana Stutler – Wayne County Prosecutor - Sexual Assault Unit
Kanika Suri – Michigan Immigrant Rights Center
Patrick Tully – Massachusetts Department of Recreation and Conservation
Jessica Wayne – Farmworker Legal Services of Michigan

2011 fellowship winners

Kimberly Adams – Washtenaw County Office of the Public Defender
Manuel Barragan Arenas – Illinois State Attorney's Juvenile Justice Bureau, Chicago              
Matthew Clark – Michigan Unemployment Insurance Project and Environmental Law Clinic, Wayne State University Law School
Julianne Cole – Michigan Attorney General's Office, Civil Rights Division
Zoila Del Castillo –, NY
Bradley Dembs – Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, Washington D.C.
Stephanie Karisny – Natural Resources Defense Council, Chicago
Michael Kiehne – Texas RioGrande Legal Aid Clinic
Valentina Korkes – Detroit Public Schools Office of the General Counsel
Emily Patterson – Maurice & Jane Sugar Law Center for Economic & Social Justice   
Victoria Suber – Michigan Children's Law Center
Natalia Vieira Santanna – Michigan Immigrant Rights Center, Kalamazoo, MI
Victor Walbridge – Free Legal Aid Clinic, Detroit

2010 fellowship winners

Eric Berg – Wayne County Prosecutor - Preliminary Exam and Major Drug Unit
Adam Clements – City of Highland Park, Legal Department
Bradley Dembs – Michigan Legal Aid, Counsel & Advocacy Law Line
Anupama Gokarn – Free Legal Aid Clinic
Andrew Hoff – Michigan Poverty Law Program
Phyllis Jeden – American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan
Jeffrey Kerby – Michigan State Appellate Defender Office
Elizabeth Kruman – US Dept Justice, Environment and Natural Resources Division, Environmental Enforcement Section, Washington DC
Natalia Santanna – Legal Services of South Central Michigan
Aisa Villarosa – Michigan Children's Law Center
Chelsea Zuzindlak – Asian American Justice Center, Washington, D.C.

2009 fellowship winners

Kimberly Adams – Salvation Army, William Booth Legal Aid Clinic, Detroit
Eric Berg – Attorney General of Michigan, Children and Youth Services Division
Lara Chelian – American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan
David Deeg – Worker Rights Consortium, Washington, D.C.
Jason Dinsmore – Environmental Law Clinic, Wayne State University Law School
Elisa Gomez – Michigan State Appellate Defender Office
Laura Kubit – Lakeshore Legal Aid Counsel & Advocacy Law Line
Rita Subhedar – National Housing Law Project, Washington, D.C.
Aisa Villarosa – Michigan Poverty Law Program
Erica Washington – Catholic Charities Legal Services, Washington, D.C.

Training the next generation of lawyers, advocates and leaders

We will create and advance knowledge, prepare a diverse student body to thrive, and positively impact local and global communities.