Wayne State University

News and Announcements

Return to News Listing Bookmark and Share

Get ready for gala reunion weekend!

March 27, 2013

The 16th annual Treasure of Detroit Gala and reunion weekend, set from Sept. 27-29, will honor some of the legal community’s best and brightest.

This year’s reunion weekend will start with a reception on Friday, Sept. 27, which will be followed by a tailgate party and a Wayne State University football game as well as a tour of Detroit’s booming Midtown on Saturday, Sept. 28. That night, the Treasure of Detroit Gala, Wayne Law’s premier event to honor those who have made a lasting contribution to the practice of law and the growth and success of the Law School, will take place. The event will include a cocktail reception, silent auction, dinner and awards program.

On Sunday, Sept. 29, Dean Jocelyn Benson will host a send-off breakfast for alumni.

The classes of 1943, 1948, 1953, 1958, 1963, 1968, 1973, 1978, 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013 will be specially honored this year.

Information regarding honorees and tickets for the event will be announced soon. Visit law.wayne.edu/alumni to get the latest news. Questions? Email lawalumni@wayne.edu.

Past Treasure of Detroit honorees include:

2012 recipients

Professor and Associate Dean Frederica K. Lombard (1939-2011), Hon. Claudia House Morcom, ’56, George Peck, ’80, Ed Zelenak, ’77

2011 recipients

James K. Robinson, ’68 (honored posthumously), David M. Hempstead, ’75, and A. Alfred Taubman

2010 recipients

Dean A. Robb, '49, Joan Mahoney, '75, and Lawrence C. Mann, '80

2009 recipients

George J. Bedrosian, ’59, Carl Ziemba, ’48 (honored posthumously), and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Chief Justice Marilyn Kelly, ’71

2008 recipients

John Collins Jr, '76, Hon. Jessica Cooper, '73, Cornelius Pitts, '64, and Georgia Clark

2007 recipients

Elizabeth Phelps Hardy, '84, Hon. Damon J. Keith, LL.M., '56, and Steven I. Victor, '50

2006 recipients

Eric Ersher, '94, David J. Galbenski, '93, LaRissa D. Hollingsworth, '03, Stephanie K. Hoos, '99, and Hon. Adam Shakoor, '76

2005 recipients

Nancy J. Diehl, '78, Sherrie L. Farrell, Cynthia Faulhaber, '82, Prof. Janet Findlater, Aretha L. Glover, '97, Justice Marilyn Kelly, '71, and Eleanor “Coco” Siewert

2004 recipients

Candyce Ewing Abbatt, '83, Hon. Nancy G. Edmunds, '76, Earle I. Erman, '74, Kevin I. Green, '84, Kathryn J. Humphrey, '80, Thomas G. Kienbaum, '68, William A. Sankbeil, '71, and I.W. Winsten, '79

2003 recipients

Mathew T. Englebert, '97, Harvey S. Gettleson, '77, and James R. Lites, '78

2002 recipients

Hon. Avern Cohn, Elliott S. Hall, '65, and Prof. Frederica K. Lombard

2001 recipient

Eugene Driker, '61

2000 recipient

Hon. Damon J. Keith, LL.M., '56

1999 recipient

Dennis Archer

1998 recipients

Hon. Patricia J. Boyle, '63, Christopher C. Nern, '72, and Hon. Dorothy Comstock Riley, '49


Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan