Wayne Law to Induct New Members into Alumni Wall of Fame on April 9

DETROIT, MI –  Wayne State University Law School is preparing for a significant event as it gets ready to welcome five outstanding individuals into its esteemed Alumni Wall of Fame during a special ceremony scheduled for Tuesday, April 9, 2024. 

The highly anticipated event will feature a delightful setup of food and beverages, offering attendees the perfect ambiance to celebrate the remarkable achievements of the honorees. Festivities will kick off at 5 p.m. and conclude at 7 p.m., promising an evening filled with warmth and camaraderie. 

The event is expected to draw an impressive turnout of esteemed guests, including prominent figures from the legal community, faculty members, alumni, and supporters of Wayne Law. 

This year's cohort of inductees represents a diverse array of accomplished individuals who have made a significant impact in their respective fields. The distinguished honorees include: 

  • Ret. U.S. Magistrate Judge Vernelis K. Armstrong, JD ’60 
  • Julia Donovan Darlow, JD ’71 
  • Joseph D. Grano, Distinguished Professor of Law (posthumously) 
  • Gary Torgow, JD ’82 
  • I. W. (Bill) Winsten, JD ’79

Each inductee's remarkable contributions and unwavering dedication have played a pivotal role in shaping the legal landscape and advancing the mission of Wayne State University Law School. 

As anticipation builds for this prestigious event, Wayne Law eagerly anticipates honoring these exceptional individuals and celebrating their extraordinary achievements that have made a lasting impact on the legal community and beyond. 

The Wayne Law Alumni Wall of Fame Award is the highest honor presented by the Law School. This distinction is awarded with great care to alumni who have distinguished themselves through their contributions in their field of work or in the betterment of humanity, as well as former faculty and staff who have significantly impacted the Law School. The Wall of Fame, an interactive, multimedia installment in the Law School lobby, was made possible by a generous donation from 1986 Wayne Law alumnus E. Powell Miller. 

Parking is available for $9 (credit or debit card only) in Parking Structure No. 1 across West Palmer Street from Wayne Law. The event is free and open to the public, but registration is required. RSVP to the event by March 25 here

To learn more about the selection process or to nominate somebody for the Wayne Law Alumni Wall of Fame, visit https://law.wayne.edu/alumni/wall-of-fame.  


Contact: Jennifer Kennedy 

Phone: 313-577-4629 

Email: Jennifer.kennedy2@wayne.edu 

← Back to listing