Wayne Law Students Compete at William & Mary Spong Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition

Chloe Brueck

Chloe Brueck (2L), TK Khan (2L), and Alexis Zerbst (2L) competed at the William & Mary Spong Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition on February 17. Chloe and TK competed as oralists (while Alexis served as the team’s brief writer). The competition took place in Williamsburg, Virginia. 

Alexis Zerbst

The William B. Spong Moot Court Tournament is William & Mary Law School’s signature invitational moot court tournament that brings together top-ranked schools and judges from across the nation to debate current constitutional issues. The first invitational tournament was held in 1972 and rapidly became one of the leading moot court tournaments in the mid-Atlantic region, regularly drawing attendees from law schools across the United States.

TK Khan

The Spong Tournament is named for William B. Spong, Jr., an esteemed jurist, politician, and former Dean of William & Mary Law School from 1976 to 1985. Dean Spong ranks among Virginia's most honored and capable statesmen, educators, and advocates. Spong studied at Hampden-Sydney College before receiving his LL.B. from the University of Virginia in 1947. After being admitted to the bar, Spong pursued post-graduate studies at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. Returning to the United States, he accepted a lecture post at the College of William & Mary before entering private practice in Portsmouth, Virginia.

← Back to listing