Wayne Law professor receives AAI Antitrust Achievement Award

DETROIT - Wayne State University Law School Professor Stephen Calkins is the 2019 recipient the prestigious Alfred E. Kahn Award for Antitrust Achievement from the American Antitrust Institute.

Calkins, a long-time Wayne Law faculty member whose career has included government service in the United States and Ireland, academic administration, and private practice, received the award at AAI's 20th Annual Policy Conference in Washington, D.C. on June 20.

Calkins has been a member of Wayne Law's faculty since 1983. He has served as interim dean and has taken leaves of absence to serve as the university's associate vice president for academic affairs, as general counsel of the Federal Trade Commission, and (from 2011-15) as a member of Ireland's Competition and Consumer Protection Commission. While in Ireland he also served as adjunct professor at University College Dublin Sutherland School of Law.

The AAI Award for Antitrust Achievement, first presented in 2000, honors outstanding contributions to the field of antitrust. Calkins is the 21st recipient of the award. Among past recipients are four assistant attorneys general, an FTC chair and a commissioner, Europe's head of competition, three U.S. senators, and professors from Cornell, Georgetown, Harvard, NYU, Purdue and Stanford.

Stephen Calkins and Diana L. Moss
Diana L. Moss, president of the American Antitrust Institute (right), presented Wayne Law Professor Stephen Calkins with the AAI Alfred E. Kahn Award for Antitrust Achievement. Download a high-resolution version of this photo.

# # #

Contact: Kaylee Place

Email: kaylee.place@wayne.edu

Phone: 313-577-4629

← Back to listing