Academic calendar

Contact Student Affairs or the Records and Registration Office for more information about this calendar.


Academic year 2017-18

Winter term 2018

Winter term begins
Monday, Jan. 1

Open registration for winter term 2018
Monday, Jan. 1 to Saturday, Jan 6

Classes begin
Monday, Jan. 8

Late registration for winter term 2018
Monday, Jan. 8 to Monday, Jan. 22

Martin Luther King Jr. holiday – university holiday
Monday, Jan. 15

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Jan. 22

Courses dropped by this date will not appear on your academic record
Sunday, Feb. 4

Last day for filing degree application
Friday, Feb. 9

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Feb. 19

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Feb. 19

Priority registration for spring/summer term 2018
To be determined to Saturday, May 5

Law School and university spring recess
Monday, March 12 to Saturday, March 17

Classes resume
Monday, March 19

Priority registration for fall term 2018
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 18

Classes end
Monday, April 16

Class make-up days, if needed
Tuesday, April 17 and Wednesday, April 18

Review and reading period
Thursday, April 19 to Wednesday, April 25

Law School examination period
Thursday, April 26 to Wednesday, May 9

Open registration for spring/summer term 2018
Monday, May 7 to Saturday, May 19

Law School term ends
Wednesday, May 9

Law School Commencement
Monday, May 14

Summer term 2018

Priority Registration for spring/summer term 2018
Friday, April 20 to Saturday, May 5

Open Registration for spring/summer term 2018
Monday, May 7 to Saturday, May 19

Classes begin
Monday, May 21

Late registration for summer term 2018
Monday, May 21 to Friday, May 25

Last day to add 6 ½ week classes and 10-week classes and last day to drop a 6 ½ week course and receive tuition cancellation
Friday, May 25

Memorial Day
Monday, May 28

Day scheduled as Monday*
Friday, June 1

6 ½ week courses dropped by this date will not appear on your transcript
Friday, June1

Last day to drop a 10-week course and receive tuition cancellation
Friday, June 1

Deadline to file Election of Pass/No Credit Grading forms
Friday, June 1

Deadline to file Upper-class Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Friday, June 1

Last day for filing degree application for August 2018 graduation
Friday, June 8

10-week courses dropped by this date will not appear on your transcript
Friday, June 15

Independence Day recess
Wednesday, July 4

6 ½ week Classes end**
Thursday, July 5

Law School examination period
Monday, July 9 to Friday, July 13

10-week courses end***
Friday, August 3

Summer term ends
Friday, August 24

*To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.
**Professional Responsibility will end on July 3. All other 6 ½ week courses will end on July 5.
***Colloquim portions of externships meeting on Monday will end on July 30. Colloquium portions of externships meeting on Wednesday will end on August 1. Practicum portions of externships will end on August 4. All clinics will end on August 2.


Tentative Law School calendar

Academic year 2018-19

Fall term 2018

Priority registration for fall term 2018
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 18

Open registration for fall term 2018
Monday, Aug. 20 to Saturday, Aug. 25

Orientation and Legal Writing Program begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
Monday, Aug. 20

Law classes begin for all law students
Monday, Aug. 27

Late registration for fall term 2018
Monday, Aug. 27 to Monday, Sept. 10

Labor Day recess
Monday, Sept. 3

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Sept. 10

Last day for filing degree application for December 2018 graduation
Friday, Sept. 28

Courses officially dropped by this date will not appear on Academic Record
Monday, Sept. 24

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Oct. 8

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Oct. 8

Priority registration for winter term 2019
Wednesday, Nov. 7 (tentative) to Saturday, Dec. 29

Day scheduled as Thursday*
Tuesday, Nov. 20

Day scheduled as Friday*
Wednesday, Nov. 21

Thanksgiving recess
Thursday, Nov. 22 to Saturday, Nov. 24

Classes end
Wednesday, Nov. 28

Review and reading period
Thursday, Nov. 29 to Wednesday, Dec. 5

Law School examination period
Thursday, Dec. 6 to Wednesday, Dec. 19

Holiday recess
Tuesday, Dec. 25 to Tuesday, Jan. 1

Fall term ends
Monday, Dec. 31

Winter term 2019

Winter term begins
Tuesday, Jan. 1

Open registration for winter term 2019
Tuesday, Jan. 1 to Saturday, Jan 5

Classes begin
Monday, Jan. 7

Late registration for winter term 2019
Monday, Jan. 7 to Friday, Jan. 18

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Friday, Jan. 18

Martin Luther King Holiday – university holiday
Monday, Jan. 21

Courses dropped by this date will not appear on Academic Record
Friday, Feb. 1

Last day for filing degree application for May 2019 graduation
Friday, Feb. 8

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Feb. 18

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Feb. 18

Priority registration for spring/summer term 2019
To be determined to Saturday, May 4

Law School and university spring recess
Monday, March 11 to Saturday, March 16

Classes resume
Monday, March 18

Priority registration for fall term 2019
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 17

Classes end
Monday, April 15

Class make-up days, if needed
Tuesday, April 16 and Wednesday, April 17

Review and reading period
Thursday, April 18 to Wednesday, April 24

Law School examination period
Thursday, April 25 to Wednesday, May 8

Open registration for spring/summer term 2019
Monday, May 6 to Saturday, May 18

Law School term ends
Wednesday, May 8

Law School Commencement
To be determined

Summer term 2019

Open Registration for spring/summer term 2019
Monday, May 6 to Saturday, May 18

Classes begin
Monday, May 20

Late registration for summer term 2019
Monday, May 20 to Saturday, May 25

Last day to add 6 ½ week and 10-week courses and last day to drop 6 ½ week courses and receive tuition cancellation
Friday, May 24

Memorial Day
Monday, May 27

Day scheduled as Monday*
Friday, May 31

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Friday, May 31

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Friday, May 31

Last day for filing degree application for August 2019 graduation
Friday, June 7

Classes end**
Wednesday, July 3

Independence Day recess
Thursday, July 4

Law School examination period
Monday, July 8 to Friday, July 12

Summer term ends
Friday, Aug. 30

*To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.
**Classes meeting Monday/Wednesday/Thursday and Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday will end July 3. All other classes will end July 2.

Training the next generation of lawyers, advocates and leaders

150 years in the heart of Detroit