Legal research and writing awards

The Diana Pratt Legal Research and Writing Annual Merit Awards are administered by the Wayne Law Scholarship Office to students who meet the award criteria. An annual Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is a requirement for all monetary awards. Beyond the FAFSA, no additional application is required.

Questions regarding research and writing awards should be directed to  Assistant Director of Scholarships Michelle Taylor at 313-577-3996 or

Best Appellate Brief Merit Award
Merit awards are made to students for the best appellate brief for each first-year Legal Research and Writing instructor.
Best Appellate Brief in Advanced Legal Writing Merit Award
This merit award is given for the best appellate brief in the Advanced Legal Writing course. 
Best Contract in First-Year Writing Merit Award
These awards are made to the first-year students who negotiated and drafted the best contracts in the first-year Legal Research and Writing course.
Patrick J. Burkett Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Established in the memory of Patrick J. Burkett, '81, this award is presented to the top first-year law student in the Legal Research and Writing course. Donors to the scholarship include the Sommers, Schwartz, Silver & Schwartz Foundation; shareholders and employees of Sommers, Schwartz, Silver & Schwartz PC; and family and friends.

Training the next generation of lawyers, advocates and leaders

150 years in the heart of Detroit