Wayne Law students awarded Women Lawyers Association of Michigan scholarships

DETROIT - Two Wayne State University Law School students were awarded scholarships from the Women Lawyers Association of Michigan Foundation.

Aleanna Siacon won the Dawn Van Hoek Scholarship and Nichole Van Blaricum won the Dobrusin Law Scholarship.

WLAM awards scholarships based on the students’ demonstrated leadership capabilities; community service in such areas as family law, child advocacy or domestic violence; commitment to diversity; and potential for advancing the position of women in society.

Aleanna Siacon headshot

Siacon, a rising third-year student, currently holds several student organization leadership positions including president of the Asian Pacific American Law Students Association, diversity editor for the Wayne Law Review, and founding co-chair of the Wayne Law Diversity Coalition. She’s also involved with Moot Court and the Health Law Society. Siacon has interned for the Hon. Mark A. Goldsmith and the U.S. Attorney's Office Civil Division. This summer, she will be a summer associate at Plunkett Cooney. Prior to law school, she was a freelance reporter/intern for the Detroit Free Press and USA Today Network. Siacon holds three bachelor degrees in journalism, political science, and history from Wayne State University.

Nichole headshot
Van Blaricum

Van Blaricum is a rising third-year student who worked as an architectural historian and archivist for five years before attending law school. She is a member of the Women’s Law Caucus and served as a student attorney for Wayne Law’s Asylum and Immigration Law Clinic. Van Blaricum currently works as an adjunct professor of anthropology at Mid-Michigan College and is a law clerk at Rivertown Law Firm. She holds a bachelor’s in anthropology from Michigan State University.

# # #

Contact: Mary Hiller

Email: maryhiller@wayne.edu 


← Back to listing