Wayne State University

Academic calendar

Contact the Dean of Students Office or the Records and Registration Office for more information about this calendar.

Tentative Law School Calendar

Academic Year 2013 - 2014

Fall Term 2013

Priority Registration for Fall Term 2013
Friday, June 14 – Sat., August 17

Open Registration for Fall Term 2013
Monday, August 19 – Sat., August 24

Orientation and Legal Writing Program Begins for:

All First Year Students (Day, Evening & Combined Program)
Mon., August 19

Law Classes Begin for All Law Students
Mon., August 26

Late Registration for Fall Term 2013
Mon., August 26 – Mon., September 9

Labor Day Recess
Mon., September 2

Last Day for Filing Degree Application
Fri., September 27

Priority Registration for Winter Term 2014
Wed., November 6 (tentative) – Sat., December 28

Classes End Mon., November 25
Review and Reading Period Tues., November 26 – Mon., December 2

Thanksgiving Recess
Thurs., November 28 – Sat., November 30

Law School Examination Period
Tues., December 3 – Mon., December 16

Holiday Recess
Wed., December 25 – Wed., January 1

Fall Term Ends
Tues., December 31


Winter Term 2014

Winter Term Begins
Wed., January 1

Open Registration for Winter Term 2014
Mon., Dec. 30 – Sat., January 4

Classes Begin
Mon., January 6

Late Registration for Winter Term 2014
Mon., January 6 – Fri., January 17

Martin Luther King Holiday - University Holiday
Mon., January 20

Last Day for Filing Degree Application
Fri., February 7

Priority Registration for Spring/Summer Term 2014
To be determined – Sat., April 26

Law School & University Spring Recess
Mon., March 10 – Sat., March 15

Classes Resume
Mon., March 17

Priority Registration for Fall Term 2014
To be determined – Sat., August 16

Open Registration for Spring/Summer Term 2014
Mon., April 28 – Sat., May 17

Classes End
Mon., April 14

Review and Reading Period
Tues., April 15 – Mon., April 21

Law School Examination Period
Tues., April 22 – Mon.., May 5

Law School Term Ends
Mon., May 5

University Commencement
To Be Announced

Law School Commencement
To Be Announced


Summer Term 2014

Classes Begin
Mon., May 19

Late Registration for Summer Term 2013
Mon., May 19 – Fri., May 23

Memorial Day Recess
Mon., May 26

Day Scheduled as Monday*
Fri., May 30

Classes End
Weds., July 2

Independence Day Recess
Fri., July 4

Law School Examination Period
Mon., July 7– Fri., July 11

Summer Term Ends
Thurs., July 31

 * To make up for class days lost due to the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.

** Classes scheduled to meet Mon./Weds./Thurs. or Tues./Weds./Thurs will have a final class meeting on Wednesday, July 2.  All other classes will end on Tuesday, July 1.


Tentative Law School Calendar

Academic Year 2014-2015

Tentative Fall Term 2014

Priority Registration for Fall Term 2014
Sat., August 16

Open Registration for Fall Term 2014
Mon., August 18 – Sat., August 23

Orientation and Legal Writing Program Begins for:

All First Year Students (Day, Evening & Combined Program)
Mon., August 18

Law Classes Begin for All Law Students
Mon., August 25

Late Registration for Fall Term 2014
Mon., August 25 - Mon., September 8

Labor Day Recess
Mon., September 1

Last Day for Filing Degree Application
Fri., September 26

Priority Registration for Winter Term 2015
Wed., Nov. 5 (tentative) – Sat., Jan. 3

Classes End
Mon. November 24

Review and Reading Period
Tues., Nov. 25 – Wed., Dec. 3

Thanksgiving
Thurs., Nov. 27

Law School Examination Period
Thurs., Dec. 4 - Wed., Dec. 17

Holiday Recess
Thurs., December 25 - Thurs., January 1

Fall Term Ends
Wed., December 31


Tentative Winter Term 2015

Winter Term Begins
Thurs., January 1

Open Registration for Winter Term 2015
Mon., January 5 – Sat., Jan 10

Classes Begin
Mon., January 12

Late Registration for Winter Term 2015
Mon., January 12 – Fri., January 17

Martin Luther King Holiday - University Holiday
Mon., January 19

Last Day for Filing Degree Application
Fri., February 13

Priority Registration for Spring/Summer Term 2015
To be determined – Sat., May 2

Law School & University Spring Recess
Mon., March 16 - Sat., March 21

Classes Resume
Mon., March 23

Priority Registration for Fall Term 2015
To be determined – Sat., August 29

Open Registration for Spring/Summer Term 2015
Mon., May 5 – Sat., May 23

Classes End
Mon., April 20

Review and Reading Period
Tues., April 21 - Mon., April 27

Law School Examination Period
Tues., April 28 - Mon., May 11

University Commencement
TBD

Law School Term Ends
Mon., May 11

Law School Commencement
TBD


 Tentative Summer Term 2015

Memorial Day
Mon., May 25

Classes Begin
Tues., May 26

Late Registration for Summer Term 2015
Tues., May 26 – Mon., June 1

Independence Day Recess
Fri., July 3

Classes End
Thurs., July 9

Law School Examination Period
Mon., July 13 - Fri., July 17

Summer Term Ends
Fri., July 31 

* To make up for class days lost due to the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.

**** Classes scheduled to meet Mon./Tues./Thurs. or Mon./Weds./Thurs. will have a final class meeting on Thursday, July 9.  All other classes will end on Wednesday, July 8.

Training the next generation of lawyers, advocates and leaders