Wayne State University

Academic calendar

Contact Student Affairs or the Records and Registration Office for more information about this calendar.

Tentative Law School calendar

Academic year 2016-17

Academic year 2016-17


Summer term 2017

Priority registration for summer term 2017
Wednesday, April 26 to Saturday, May 6

Open Registration for summer term 2017
Monday, May 8 to Saturday, May 20

Classes begin
Monday, May 22

Late registration for summer term 2017
Monday, May 22 to Friday, May 26

Last day to add 6 ½ week and 10 week classes and last day to drop a 6 ½ week course and receive tuition cancellation
Friday, May 26

Memorial Day
Monday, May 29

Day scheduled as a Monday*
Friday, June 2

6 ½ week courses dropped by this date will not appear on your transcript
Friday, June 2

Last day to drop a 10 week course and receive tuition cancellation
Friday, June 2

Deadline to file Election of Pass/No Credit Grading forms
Friday, June 2

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Friday, June 2

Last day for filing degree application for August 2017 graduation
Friday, June 9

10 week courses dropped by this date will not appear on your transcript
Friday, June 16

Day scheduled as a Tuesday*
Friday, June 30

6 ½ Week Classes end**
Monday, July 3

Independence Day recess
Tuesday, July 4

Law School examination period
Monday, July 10 to Friday, July 14

Law School examination period
Monday, July 10 to Friday, July 14

10 Week Courses end**
Friday, July 28

Summer term ends
Friday, Aug. 25

*To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.

**Classes meeting for 10 weeks for summer 2017 are all externship practica and colloquia, all advanced clinics and Free Legal Aid.


Tentative Law School calendar

Academic year 2017-18

Fall term 2017

Priority registration for fall term 2017
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 19

Open registration for fall term 2017
Monday, Aug. 21 to Saturday, Aug. 26

Orientation and Legal Writing Program begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
Monday, Aug. 21

Law classes begin for all law students
Monday, Aug. 28

Late registration for fall term 2017
Monday, Aug. 28 to Monday, Sept. 11

Labor Day recess
Monday, Sept. 4

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Sept. 11

Last day for filing degree application
Friday, Sept. 29

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Oct. 9

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Oct. 9

Priority registration for winter term 2018
Wednesday, Nov. 1 (tentative) to Saturday, Dec. 30

Day scheduled as Thursday*
Tuesday, Nov. 21

Day scheduled as Friday*
Wednesday, Nov. 22

Thanksgiving recess
Thursday, Nov. 23 to Saturday, Nov. 25

Classes end
Wednesday, Nov. 29

Review and reading period
Thursday, Nov. 30 to Wednesday, Dec. 6

Law School examination period
Thursday, Dec. 7 to Wednesday, Dec. 20

Holiday recess
Monday, Dec. 25 to Monday, Jan. 1

Fall term ends
Sunday, Dec. 31


Winter term 2018

Winter term begins
Monday, Jan. 1

Open registration for winter term 2018
Monday, Jan. 1 to Saturday, Jan 6

Classes begin
Monday, Jan. 8

Late registration for winter term 2018
Monday, Jan. 8 to Monday, Jan. 22

Martin Luther King Jr. holiday – university holiday
Monday, Jan. 15

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Jan. 22

Last day for filing degree application
Friday, Feb. 9

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Feb. 19

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Feb. 19

Priority registration for spring/summer term 2018
To be determined to Saturday, May 5

Law School and university spring recess
Monday, March 12 to Saturday, March 17

Classes resume
Monday, March 19

Priority registration for fall term 2018
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 18

Classes end
Monday, April 16

Class make-up days, if needed
Tuesday, April 17 and Wednesday, April 18

Review and reading period
Thursday, April 19 to Wednesday, April 25

Law School examination period
Thursday, April 26 to Wednesday, May 9

Open registration for spring/summer term 2018
Monday, May 7 to Saturday, May 19

Law School term ends
Wednesday, May 9

Law School Commencement
To be determined


Summer term 2018

Classes begin
Monday, May 21

Late registration for summer term 2018
Monday, May 21 to Saturday, May 26

Memorial Day
Monday, May 28

Day scheduled as Monday*
Friday, June 1

Independence Day recess
Wednesday, July 4

Classes end**
Thursday, July 5

Law School examination period
Monday, July 9 to Friday, July 13

Summer term ends
Friday, Aug. 24

*To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.

**Classes meeting Monday/Wednesday/Thursday and Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday will end July 5. All other classes will end July 3.

Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan