Wayne State University

Academic calendar

Contact Student Affairs or the Records and Registration Office for more information about this calendar.

Tentative Law School calendar

Academic year 2016-17

Fall term 2016

Priority registration for fall term 2016
TBD to Saturday, Aug. 20

Open registration for fall term 2016
Monday, Aug. 22 to Saturday, Aug. 27

Orientation and Legal Writing Program begins for all first-year students (day, evening and combined program)
Monday, Aug. 22

Law classes begin for all law students
Monday, Aug. 29

Late registration for fall term 2016
Monday, Aug. 29 to Monday, Sept. 12

Labor Day recess
Monday, Sept. 5

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Sept. 12

Courses dropped by this date won't appear on academic record
Monday, Sept. 26

Last day for filing degree application
Friday, Sept. 30

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Oct. 10

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Oct. 10

Priority registration for winter term 2017
Wednesday, Nov. 2 to Saturday, Dec. 31

Day scheduled as Thursday*
Tuesday, Nov. 22

Day scheduled as Friday*
Wednesday, Nov. 23

Thanksgiving recess
Thursday, Nov. 24 to Saturday, Nov. 26

Classes end
Wednesday, Nov. 30

Review and reading period
Thursday, Dec. 1 to Wednesday, Dec. 7

Law School examination period
Thursday, Dec. 8 to Wednesday, Dec. 21

Holiday recess
Sunday, Dec. 25 to Sunday, Jan. 1

Fall term ends
Saturday, Dec. 31

* To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled.


Winter term 2017

Winter term begins
Sunday, Jan. 1

Open registration for winter term 2017
Monday, Jan. 2 to Saturday, Jan 7

Classes begin
Monday, Jan. 9

Late registration for winter term 2017
Monday, Jan. 9 to Monday, Jan. 23

Martin Luther King Jr. holiday – university holiday
Monday, Jan. 16

Last day to add/drop courses for tuition refund
Monday, Jan. 23

Last day for filing degree application
Friday, Feb. 10

Deadline to file Election of Pass-No Credit Grading forms
Monday, Feb. 20

Deadline to file Upperclass Writing Requirement Certificate forms
Monday, Feb. 20

Priority registration for spring/summer term 2017
To be determined to Saturday, May 6

Law School and university spring recess
Monday, March 13 to Saturday, March 18

Classes resume
Monday, March 20

Priority registration for fall term 2017
To be determined to Saturday, Aug. 26

Classes end
Monday, April 17

Class make-up days, if needed
Tuesday, April 18, and Wednesday, April 19

Review and reading period
Thursday, April 20 to Wednesday, April 26

Law School examination period
Thursday, April 27 to Wednesday, May 10

Open registration for spring/summer term 2017
Monday, May 8 to Saturday, May 20

Law School term ends
Wednesday, May 10

Law School Commencement
To be determined


Summer term 2017

Classes begin
Monday, May 22

Late registration for summer term 2017
Monday, May 22 to Saturday, May 27

Memorial Day
Monday, May 29

Day scheduled as a Monday*
Friday, June 2

Day scheduled as a Tuesday**
Friday, June 30

Independence Day recess
Tuesday, July 4

Classes end**
Wednesday, July 5

Law School examination period
Monday, July 10 to Friday, July 14

Summer term ends
Friday, Aug. 25

* To make up for class days lost because of the observance of holidays, substitute class days are scheduled. 

** Classes meeting Monday/Wednesday/Thursday and Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday will end July 5. All other classes will end July 3.

Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan