Wayne State University

News and Announcements Archive

Return to News Listing Bookmark and Share

Arthur Neef Moot Court Competition results

November 19, 2010

PHOTO RELEASE (Nov. 19, 2010) – Wayne State University Law School's Arthur Neef Moot Court Competition was held Nov. 1 in the Law School's Spencer M. Partrich Auditorium. This year's problem involved the dangerous patient exception to the federal psychotherapist-patient privilege and whether police improperly gained entry into the petitioner’s dwelling in violation of the Fourth Amendment. Students Natalia Santanna and Nathan Dupes argued for the petitioner while Jyarland Daniels-Jones and Nadia Igram argued for the respondents. Daniels-Jones and Nadia Igram were declared winners.

Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice Marilyn Kelly, '71, Wayne Law Professor Peter Henning and 3rd Circuit Judge Dan Hathaway served as final round judges.

According to Moot Court Chancellor Brian Shekell, each judge commented on the excellent oratory skills and preparedness of each of the competitors.

Additional semester awards handed out at the competition went to top oral advocate Nicholas Mull and top brief writer Brandon Lewis. A small reception was held immediately following the argument for all moot court members and their families. Wayne Law Professor Amy Neville serves as the program's faculty adviser.

Top photo: Nathan Dupes
Middle photo: Nadia Igram and Jyarland Daniels Jones
Bottom photo: Nathan Dupes and Natalia Santanna

Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan