Wayne State University

News and Announcements

Return to News Listing Bookmark and Share

14th annual Treasure of Detroit Gala to be held at DIA March 26

January 20, 2011

DETROIT (Jan. 20, 2011) – Wayne State University Law School Dean Robert M. Ackerman, the Wayne Law Board of Visitors and the Wayne Law Alumni Association are pleased to announce that the 14th annual Treasure of Detroit Gala will be held at 5:30-10 p.m. on Saturday, March 26, 2011, at the Detroit Institute of Arts.

Since its inception in 1998, the Treasure of Detroit Gala has been Wayne Law’s premiere event for honoring those who have made a lasting contribution to the practice of law, as well as to the growth and success of the Law School. The event brings together some of the legal community’s brightest minds and scholars. Honorees have yet to be announced. (Past honorees are listed toward the end of this release.)

This year’s gala will feature an alumni reunion reception for all classes beginning at 5:30 p.m., paying special tribute to this year’s featured class: the class of 1970. The event will also feature a silent auction, awards program and dinner.

“The Treasure of Detroit Gala provides Wayne Law alumni and friends a wonderful opportunity to reconnect with each other and the Law School, and to pay tribute to those who have made significant contributions to the legal profession and society," Ackerman said. “I look forward to celebrating with Wayne Law students, alumni, faculty and friends at the Detroit Institute of Arts once again in March.”

Sponsorship opportunities for this event are available, and the Law School encourages its friends to participate. For information regarding sponsorship opportunities or giving to Wayne Law in general, please contact Michael Silverstein in the Law School’s Office of Development and Alumni Relations at (313) 577-9238 or silverstein@wayne.edu.

RSVP for the 2011 Treasure of Detroit at https://specialevents.wayne.edu/treasure2011.

Past Treasure of Detroit Honorees:

2010 recipients
Dean A. Robb, '49, Joan Mahoney, '75, and Lawrence C. Mann, '80

2009 recipients
George J. Bedrosian, ’59, Carl Ziemba, ’48 (honored posthumously), and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Hon. Marilyn Kelly, ’71

2008 recipients

John Collins Jr., '76, Hon. Jessica Cooper, '73, Cornelius Pitts, '64, and Georgia Clark

2007 recipients

Elizabeth Phelps Hardy, '84, Hon. Damon J. Keith, LL.M. '56, and Steven I. Victor, '50

2006 recipients

Eric Ersher, '94, David J. Galbenski, '93, LaRissa D. Hollingsworth, '03, Stephanie K. Hoos, '99, and Hon. Adam Shakoor, '76 

2005 recipients
Nancy J. Diehl, '78, Sherrie L. Farrell, Cynthia Faulhaber, '82, Prof. Janet Findlater, Aretha L. Glover, '97, Justice Marilyn Kelly, '71, and Eleanor “Coco” Siewert

2004 recipients
Candyce Ewing Abbatt, '83, Hon. Nancy G. Edmunds, '76, Earle I. Erman, '74, Kevin I. Green, '84, Kathryn J. Humphrey, '80, Thomas G. Kienbaum, '68, William A. Sankbeil, '71, and I.W. Winsten, '79

2003 recipients
Mathew T. Englebert, '97, Harvey S. Gettleson, '77, and James R. Lites, '78

2002 recipients

Hon. Avern Cohn, Elliott S. Hall, '65, and Professor Emerita Frederica K. Lombard

2001 recipient

Eugene Driker, '61

2000 recipient

Hon. Damon J. Keith, LL.M. '56

1999 recipient
Dennis Archer

1998 recipients

Hon. Patricia J. Boyle, '63, Christopher C. Nern, '72, and Hon. Dorothy Comstock Riley, '49 

- ### -

Wayne State University is a premier urban research university offering more than 400 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges to nearly 32,000 students.

For more information about Wayne State University Law School, visit law.wayne.edu.


Advocating for justice, serving the community, revitalizing Detroit and Michigan