Wayne State University

News and Announcements

Return to News Listing Bookmark and Share

Wayne Law dean candidates announced

April 03, 2017

DETROIT – The search committee for Wayne State University Law School’s next dean has narrowed the field of candidates to five individuals.

The five finalists are:

  • Richard A. Bierschbach, professor of law, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University
  • Markus D. Dubber, professor of law and director of the Centre for Ethics, University of Toronto Faculty of Law
  • Lance Gable, associate professor of law and interim dean, Wayne State University Law School
  • Ileana Porras, associate dean of academic affairs and acting co-director of the Robert Traurig-Greenberg Traurig LL.M. in Real Property Development, University of Miami School of Law
  • Asmara M. Tekle, professor of law, Thurgood Marshall School of Law, Texas Southern University

The search committee includes law school and university faculty and staff, as well as a current Wayne Law student and alumna.  

Training the next generation of lawyers, advocates and leaders