Law School Newsletter - Raising the bar
December 2012 Make a Gift

Wayne Law News

Joycelyn Benson named interim dean

Wayne State University is pleased to announce the appointment of Jocelyn Benson as interim dean of the Law School effective Monday, Dec. 17.

New alumni officer brings experience, enthusiasm

Kathryn “Katie” Brennan’s new job as Wayne Law’s alumni relations officer brings her education and experience together into a “perfect fit.”

Wayne Law and WSU School of Social Work team up to offer warmth

Casey Stengel said, “Gettin' good players is easy. Gettin' 'em to play together is the hard part.” And that’s where Randi Williams comes in. She’s a Wayne State University master of social work program intern with Wayne Law’s Legal Advocacy for People with Cancer (LAPC) program.

Professor wins prestigious award

Wayne State University Professor of Law Charles “Chip” Brower has been awarded the Smit-Lowenfeld Prize, which recognizes the outstanding article published in 2011 on any aspect of international arbitration.    

LaForest and McQuillan win Arthur Neef Moot Court Competition

Second-year law students Kathleen LaForest of Ann Arbor and Kevin McQuillan of Toledo, Ohio, emerged as the champions of Wayne State University Law School’s recent 2012 Arthur Neef Moot Court Competition, which was  judged by four Michigan Court of Appeals judges — Elizabeth Gleicher, Christopher Murray, Cynthia Stephens and Kirsten Frank Kelly.

Alumni Accomplishments

Martha Snow, '91, was appointed by Gov. Snyder to Wayne County Circuit Court to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Gershwin Drain. She is a shareholder of the Xuereb Snow law firm and has more than 20 years of experience as a civil trial lawyer, primarily practicing family law. Snow previously was a special assistant attorney general, shareholder of the Martha M. Snow law firm, and an associate attorney at Pepper and Associates.

More Alumni Accomplishments

Student Accomplishments

Jack Schulz, Student Bar Association Board of Governors President, received the Bernard Gottfried Memorial Endowed Scholarship in Labor Law from Terry A. Morgan, regional director, Region 7, of the National Labor Relations Board recently. The scholarship is awarded to a student planning to pursue a career in labor and employment law.

More Student Accomplishments

Faculty Accomplishments

Anne Marie Burr presented at a Legal Writing Institute Conference held at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Law in December on the subject of "Creating Practice Ready Grads." Burr also is collaborating with University of Michigan Professor Howard Bromberg on a practice skills textbook, "U.S. Legal Skills for Foreign Students" (Carolina Academic Press 2013), and serving as the chair of the Executive Board for the Institute of Continuing Legal Education for 2012-13.

More Faculty Accomplishments

Connect with Wayne Law alumni and friends on Facebook

Follow Wayne Law on Twitter

Wayne State University Aim Higher
Wayne State University Law School
471 W. Palmer St.
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4629

If you believe this e-mail was sent to you in error, or you do not want to continue receiving this communication,
please unsubscribe at lawalumni@wayne.edu.